Saturday, November 28, 2009

Wow - that's not good

Looks like the entire music collection from this site has been erased my server! How fucked up is that? I was just talking to someone about how I should be backing that up!

I'll have to take this opportunity to go back to the drawing board.

Tuesday, November 03, 2009

Mike Rutherford - Smallcreep's Day (1980) (mp3, 160kbps)

This is just a great all-around album. It is not a prog masterpiece, despite the 24 minute suite that takes up the first 'side' of the lp. But it is also not a pure pop exercise, like much of the Genesis and Mike & The Mechanics music that came later. I find it somewhat amusing that, for his first solo effort, Rutherford really played it safe. His only other solo effort, 1982's Acting Very Strange is a bit more out there.

Where Smallcreep's Day really excels is in the warm and comfortable feeling that pervades Duke and A Curious Feeling. The fact that Collins had not yet come into his own as a superstar is meaningful. A solo album was not an act of defiance, but merely a vacation. And that happy and comfortable feeling really comes across on this selection. The guitars and keyboards are expertly layered. They don't do much in the way of amazing acrobatics, but that's because the emphasis is on the song and the the soloing. Simon Phillips on drums and Marris Pert (from Brand X) provide enough imaginative texture to remind you of the artist's prog roots. And the presence of Anthony Phillips only enhances the pastoral feel of REALLY old Genesis.

This is a record you will like on the first listen. The more your listen, the more you will discover about the lush production. I don't think there was ever an expectation of touring, so this is true 'studio' music. It's refreshing that Rutherford doesn't hide the ball or pull lots of tricks. He gives you what he's got, in clear and convincing tones.

All tracks written by Mike Rutherford.

  1. "Smallcreep's Day" (Total Time 24:38)
I. Between the Tick & the Tock – 3:59
II. Working In Line – 3:07
III. After Hours – 1:45
IV. Cats and Rats (In This Neighbourhood) – 4:50
V. Smallcreep Alone – 1:33
VI. Out Into the Daylight – 3:49
VII. At the End of the Day – 5:35
  1. "Moonshine" – 6:23
  2. "Time and Time Again" – 4:52
  3. "Romani" – 5:25
  4. "Every Road" – 4:13
  5. "Overnight Job" – 5:43


  • Ant Phillips – keyboards
  • Noel McCalla – vocals
  • Simon Phillips – drums
  • Morris Pert – percussion
  • Mike Rutherford – guitars, basses

The link is in the comments.